- Be 18 years of age
- Complete a 75 hour class (at least 15 hours must be live)
- Have a high school degree or equivalent (GED)
- Have no felony convictions
- Are not in default on student loans, income taxes or child support
- Pass the state examination (More state test information is available at www.goamp.com)
After passing the state exam, the candidate must then be sponsored by a licensed real estate broker within 1 year.
Anyone who wants to become a real estate broker is required to complete a 75 hour real estate course before they can be licensed. This course covers the factors involved in real estate transactions from finance, real estate law, and private property rights to a variety of other topics including listing agreements, taxation, fair housing, property management, Illinois License Law, disclosure, environmental issues, agency law and ethics. They then must complete a 45 hour post licensing class before their next renewal (April 30 of even-numbered years)
Check out the home study possibilities at RealEstateExpress
Testing for the state exam, salesperson and broker, is conducted by Applied Measurement Professionals (AMP). To learn more about the state exam, or to register to take the exam, please visit www.goamp.com.
Inquires regarding licensing procedures in Illinois can be directed to:
Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
500 East Monroe, 2nd floor
Springfield, IL 62701-1509
(217) 785-3414 or (217) 785-9300
The main page for real estate professions: